A Poem: “Recovery”

My jeans are a little bit tighter this morning

They’re snugger than they were the other day

But surprisingly, I’m ok

Because the feeling of my skin up against my clothes doesn’t scare me anymore

Instead of feeling out of control, it reminds me that I am IN control

I am CHOOSING to recover

Because recovery means getting to go home and enjoy my friends and family

It means getting to go back to school and work, instead of watching others do those things without me

Recovery means I get to press “Play” on the remote that controls my life, instead of it constantly being put on pause

No longer is my life dictated by a voice inside my head, but it is dictated by me

My jeans are a little bit tighter today; And I like them better that way

Leave a Reply

