Journal #25

January 29th, 2016

Imagine someone told you that you could add another 40 years onto your life, if you changed one thing about the way you were living. Obviously, everyone that loves and cares for you would want you to follow that advice, right? Well, that one thing you have to give up, is electricity. Not so easy to adhere to the recommendation anymore is it? Hearing my mom tell me that analogy last night was the first time I felt like the gravity of what I’m being asked to do was understood. I guess one of the therapists from my residential treatment center had given my mom the metaphor, as she was explaining to her how difficult this process was about to become. I’d say it’s pretty dang spot on. This whole recovery process, it’s not just “Hard.” Hard, is training for a marathon. Hard, is taking 17 credits while working 14 hours a week and taking on a full time volunteer position. This, on the other hand, is by far the most difficult thing I’ve ever had to do. It’s really, really freaking difficult. But, it is possible. I KNOW that it’s possible. Because the Bible says, “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” And he is walking with me through this.

-Bridge

Leave a Reply

