Journal #53

February 18th, 2016

So, I had a successful Taper Day yesterday! It was hard, but it was good. My morning started off with eating breakfast alone (which was hard), but I was able to call and TALK to my therapist afterwards, which I am SUPER thankful for. After that, I headed out to my massage at Precision Healing and it was fantastic. Once the massage was done, I went home and showered and played the piano, and then Brad picked me up and we drove down to Burnside to have lunch at Elephant’s. We ran into Liz (my friend from treatment) there, having lunch on HER taper day with her mom, which was quite convenient, because we were able to snag their table 🙂 I had Mama Leone’s soup, which used to be my favorite, but I haven’t had in YEARS. I had a whole pint of it, which seemed like a ton, but I was actually able to enjoy it! My time with Brad was awesome, and since I’m now on Level B, we were able to walk down 23rd for a bit afterwards and it was SUNNY! It’s amazing how incredible something as simple as walking downtown, with my brother, in the sunshine can feel after not being able to do it for a couple of months. After that, we went home and hung out for a while until I went out to coffee (well, we had tea, actually) with Laney. I got into a minor accident on the drive over there, which TERRIFIED me, even though no damage was done to either vehicle, and the guy who I rear-ended (whoops) was super understanding and just wanted to make sure I was okay. He didn’t even ask for my insurance info or phone number! What a blessing. Lesson learned, however-don’t change the radio in stop and go traffic. Starbucks with Laney was a great way to cap off the day, though.

My day today has been better than any day I’ve had in treatment thus far. My vitals weren’t bradycardic, and I was only orthostatic by 5 points, which was awesome, especially given that I walked around yesterday! Also, my weight’s maintained since Tuesday! I’m looking forward to catching up with some friends I haven’t seen in a while this weekend, and hope things only continue to get easier.

-Bridge

Leave a Reply

